a2ru Ground Works Panel Explores Art-Science Collaboration

May 4, 2022, Please join:

-Moderator Joey Orr, Curator for Research at the University of Kansas Spencer Museum of Art

-Interdisciplinary team comprised of video artist Janet Biggs, mathematician Agnieszka Międlar, and physicist Daniel Tapia Takaki

-Head of Arts at CERN, Mónica Bello

Each art-science collaboration has its own disciplinary makeup, objectives, and ways of working. At the same time, these collaborations are embedded in ecologies of professional relationships, funding, and institutional structures. a2ru Ground Works explores art-sci experiences at both the team and institutional levels in a 75-minute panel discussion.

At the interdisciplinary team level, we wonder: what do artists and scientists hope to get out of their shared research? What are their working methods? What are their outcomes? What can they accomplish together that they couldn’t alone? In a 2020 Ground Works panel discussion, we asked questions like these of an art-sci team from IARI, the Integrated Arts Research Initiative at the Spencer Museum of Art. Now we’ll catch up with the team and see how their collaborative work has developed over the past year and a half.

We will also check in at the institutional level with the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), an international center for scientific research, and their Arts at CERN program. Arts at CERN has established a Memorandum of Understanding with the Spencer Museum of Art through University connections to support the IARI team. We ask: what are the mechanisms of support for artists at KU and at CERN? What does institutional support enable, and what does it restrict?

May 4, 2022 at 5pm CEST/ 4pm BST/ 11am EDT/ 10am CDT/ 9am MDT/ 8am PDT

Virtual, free, and open to the public
Pre-registration is required for this Zoom meeting


April 13, 2022 - General


Announcements
Home